My Happy Valentine

Kehena Beach

When I think about all the places I’ve lived in my one and only life I must say I feel very fortunate to have landed here in Hawaii 12 years ago. I live in a very primal and remote part of the Big Island, near a volcano that is still forming new land. Hiking to the lava flow and seeing it going into the ocean at the break of dawn is a spectacular sight to behold. I also live within walking distance to this tiny black sand beach which is growing ever smaller. That is the nature of black sand beaches, as in most things in life, nothing is forever.

For my latest project, being so close to Valentine’s Day, I thought it would be a good time to do a card.

Again I looked to the ocean for my inspiration. This time it came in the form of the Hawaiian State Fish. The Humuhumunukunukuapua’a or Humuhumu for short. It’s a type of trigger fish with a raccoonish kind of black mask. I swam close to the fish to study it’s markings.

I start with a piece of watercolor paper. I thought I’d do a drawing using Niji Pearlescent WatercolorsYasutomo Sumi Ink, and Niji Chinese Watercolors or any acrylic or watercolor with a bright red paint.

I quickly drew the basic shape of the fish. Not the accurate, but very loose, using the Sumi Ink and a simple pointed brush.

TukoValentine5

Then just kind of finish it off adding the eyes, striping, and little fins (it’s “wings”).

TukoValentine4

I also added the bubbles that become a heart and the message below. I love seeing the name of the fish. It’s so long and musical. I guess that’s why someone put it in a song (‘My Little Grass Shack in Kealakekua Hawai`i). I painted the heart with the Niji Chinese Watercolors because they have a very bright red. I wanted to paint the rest with the Niji Pearlescent Watercolors but I knew from experimenting that the red wasn’t the brightness I wanted. Though to make the heart have the pearlescent shimmer, I went over it with the pearlescent red over it, once it dried.

TukoValentine1

Here’s a close up of the drawing to show you the shimmer of the pearlescent paint. And below is the finished card with a little coral added in the corners to complete the whole thing.

TukoValentine2

Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

